5 August 2023


Skipper Arjun Azad’s blistering knock of 90 off 52 balls helped Leisure Zone to beat Terrace Zone by 52 runs in a one-sided match on the second day of UTCA T20 Cricket Domestic League played at Cricket Stadium, Sector 16 on Saturday. The duo of Arjun Azad and Tushar Joshi formed a strong foundation for the team with a partnership of 70 runs in the first seven overs. Terrace Zone got their first breakthrough in the form of Tushar (23) followed by Gaurav Puri (3). Arjun played another vital 67-run partnership with Surya Narayan. Thereafter, skipper was dismissed for 90 studded with four sixes and eight fours leaving the side at 142/4 in 16th over. With Arpit Pannu (10), Ashwin Murugan (13), Mayank Sidhu (11) and unbeaten Hardik Chowdhary (7) Leisure Zone managed to amass  190/7 in stipulated 20 overs.

Mandeep Singh and Ravindra Pal Singh shared two wickets each from the opposition side.

Chasing down the target, Terrace Zone got off to a poor start as the team struggled with 45/4 on the board.  Meanwhile, five IPL teams experienced Ashwini Murugan who is joining the Chandigarh team as a guest player struck three batters in his three overs – Chaitanya Sharma (1), Amrit Lubana (21) and Nikhil Sharma (0) with  98/6 on the board. Tailenders  – Niupan Sharda (14), Aryan Duggal (5), Ravindrapal Singh (8) and Mandeep Singh (5) were also dismissed cheaply as  Captain Bhagmender Lather (36) emerged as the top scorer for the side.

Arjun Azad was awarded the man of the match for his brilliant innings.

Earlier in the morning, Sukhna Zone defeated Plaza Zone by five wickets in the last over. Batting first, Plaza Zone scored 156/6 in 20 overs wherein Jagmeet Singh scored 73 and Guntash Veer Singh contributed 47 runs. Amit Shukla took maximum two wickets. In reply, skipper Arslan Khan made a blistering start of 37 off 26 balls with Pradeep Yadav (25), Sanyam Saini (15) and Sagar Sarahan (54 not out) contributing brilliantly later in the innings With five balls to spare, the team surpassed the given target at the loss of five wickets. Hartejaswi Kapoor took the maximum share of two wickets

Sarahan was awarded the man of the match for scoring 54 runs in 33 balls.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.