Photo By Vinay Kumar


26 March 2017


Mr. Jaswant Singh Rana and Mr. Barinder Singh Rawat were today re-elected for the second consecutive term as President and Secretary General, respectively, of the Chandigarh Press Club elections.According to the returning officer Mr Sham Singh, the election were peaceful and recording breaking  for which he thanked the worthy members (Voters)of Press Club.

The entire nine-member panel led by Mr. Rana and Mr. Rawat swept the poll.

Rana of Dainik Tribune won the polls by defeating Tarlochan Singh of Punjabi Tribune with a margin of 144 votes. Elections to the nine posts of the governing council were held in which 507 voters out of the 581 cast their votes, declared Returning Officer Sham Singh.

He said Mr. Saurabh Duggal and Ms. Monika Sharma, both of Hindustan Times, Mr. Rajinder Singh Nagarkoti of The Tribune, Ms Neha Sharma of Times of India, Mr. K.S. Rana of Punjab Kesri and Mr. Sanjay Malhotra of PTC News, all first-timers, won the elections.

Mr. Duggal defeated sitting Senior Vice-President Mr. Nalin Acharya with a margin of 83 votes.

Mr. Ramesh Handa of Punjab Kesri won the post of Treasurer by defeating Sanjeev Mahajan with 45 votes.

For the post of secretary general, Mr. Rawat of Dainik Bhaskar retained the seat by defeating Mr. Akash Ghai of The Tribune by 61 votes. Ms. Monika Sharma defeated Ruby of Aaj Samaj for the women reserved seat (vice president – I) by a margin of 167 votes. For vice-president II, Mr. Nagarkoti won the seat by defeating Mr. Amarnath of Dainik Tribune by 202 votes, the highest margin in the election.

Mr. K.S. Rana got elected for the post of joint secretary (one). He defeated Ms. Archana Sethi of Dainik Bhaskar by 31 votes. Ms. Neha Sharma won the post of joint secretary (two) by defeating Mr. Sanjay Sharma’Kurl’ by 130 votes.

The election to the Press Club, established in 1980, is held annually and has been conducting since 1984 without a miss.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.