6th Edition of Chandigarh cyclothon held



11 November 2018


India’s leading professional cyclists participated in the 6th Chandigarh cyclothon held today. These pros showed their cycling and physical prowess in the cyclothon which was the biggest attraction on the wide Jan Marg, this morning.Justice Ajay Kumar Mittal, Punjab & Haryana High court and Sanjay Tandon, President, Chandigarh  BJP, flagged off the race from near the Sector-16-17 dividing lights , opposite the MC office. Chandigarh Tourism in association with Avon cycles hosted the mega cycling event; Sports 13 was the company which conceptualized the event. Mandeep Pahwa , Executive Director Avon cycles too was part of the VIP guest list. Yadvinder Singh, CEO, Sports-13 and Kiran Kaur, MD,  Starbiz India Entertainment were also present.

In the pro race, a total of 45 kms were covered by the cyclists. This distance included 15 laps of the garland route between matka chowk and the sec 16 cricket stadium rotary. Manjit Singh of Indian Air Force won with 26 points, second was B Mugesh with 16 points and third position went to Anil Manglaw from Haryana who scored 14 points.

According to Mandeep Pahwa , Executive Director Avon cycles, “The event showed the enthusiasm among participants for cycling. The cyclists also wanted to give a message of health and safeguarding the fragile environment by cycling and not using fossil fuel based transport. Students participated in large numbers.” Onkar Singh, General Secretary, Cycling Federation of India(CFI) was present with his team. The event saw a keen collaboration of organisers with CFI. Yadvinder Singh,CEO, Sports 13, the company which organised the Cyclothon said, “The registrations made for Chandigarh cyclothon is a pointer that cycling is quite popular amongst all age groups and should be promoted particularly among the youth.”

An amateur race too was organised. This covered 21 kms, which included 7 laps of the same garland route taken by the pro race. Vishal Tomar was first, Gaurav Sagar second and Jaskirat Singh was adjudged third in the amateur race. In the ladies section of the amateur race, Sadhulika was first, Manju Bhaskar second and Sajiny Roshan came third.  A fun – maza ride cum ride for school children too was held in which school children and other cycling enthusiasts took part with great fervour. The ride covered one lap of the route.

Chandigarh cyclothon received a tremendous response with good participation of  cyclists.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.