Kapurthala beat Moga by 6 wickets to win Punjab state Inter district senior T-20 Championship



6 August 2021


The much awaited finals of the Punjab State Senior Inter District T-20  Tournament, which was earlier rescheduled because of persistent bad weather and rains were played yesterday at PCA Stadium Mohali. In the finals played on 5th August between Team Moga  vs Team Kapurthala , Kapurthala beat Moga by 6 wickets and claimed the championship .

Kapurthala won the toss and opted to field first and Moga to bat first. Kapurthala bowlers restricted Moga at a score of 137 for 8 in 20 overs. Moga innings was propped up by a 49 runs partnership for the 3rd wicket between Gurjinder Singh 28 off 34 balls inclusive of 2 boundaries and Sourab Kamal 61 off 37 balls studded with 9 boundaries and 1 six. Moga kept on losing wickets at regular intervals and were restricted to 137 for 8 in 20 overs when the innings ended. Kapurthala attack was led by Sukhdeep Bajwa 2 for 34 and Bikramjit Singh 2 for 20, Madandeep Dutt, Krishan and Ramesh Kumar claimed 1 wicket each.

In reply Kapurthala made a disastrous start losing their opener Bikramjit Singh (1) and Pawanjot Sekhon 0 with teams total reading 2 for 8 in 2 overs. Thereafter Neeraj Kumar 21 and Vikas Chouhan 23 added 24 runs for the 3rd wicket before Neeraj Kumar was caught by Talwinder Singh of Saurabh Kamal for 21. Thereafter Vikas Chouhan and Krishan put on 40 runs for the 4th wicket before Vikas Chouhan was run out by Sourab Kamal for 23. Krishan then found an able partner in Himanshu Satyawan and the duo took the team past the winning post by adding 69 runs for the unbeaten 6th wicket partnership. Krishan completed his unbeaten half century 50 off 38 balls laced with 5 boundaries and 2 huge sixes while Himanshu Satyawan unbeaten on 36 off 28 balls with 1 boundary and 1 six. For Moga Sourab Kamal 2 for 35 and Gobindjot Singh 1 for 28 were the main wicket takers.

Mr. Puneet Bali Hony secretary ,PCA, Mr Surjit Rai joint secretary, PCA ,Mr RP Singla Hony Treasurer, and Mr Deepak Sharma CEO,PCA handed over the cash prize of Rs 50000/- to runners up team Moga and winner’s trophy and a cash prize if Rs 1,00,000 to the winners Kapurthala district.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.