All India Federation of self financing colleges urged NDA Government to save Unaided Colleges



2 March 2017


A delegation of All India Federation of Self Financing Technical Institutions (AIFSFTI) under the leadership of Chief Patron, Sri R S Munirathinam and President, Dr. Anshu Kataria has met with M. Venkaiah Naidu, Union Minister of Urban Development, Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation and Information & Broadcasting.

While highlighting the problems being faced by self financed colleges of the country Dr. Anshu Kataria said that over 10,000 technical institutions of the country immediately need apprehension of the Govt. Kataria said that more than 90% technical education is being offered by the Private sector but because of many reasons this sector is under heavy stress. Kataria said that this sector requires fresh impetus of reforms.

Kataria further said that many of the organizations have borrowed huge debt to create the infrastructure required to fulfill the records of AICTE, New Delhi. But banks have always been treating this sector as normal commercial sector and used to charge high rate of interest to self financed colleges as well as to the students. Kataria demanded that education sector should be treated as priority sector and colleges should be financed on cheaper rates while students should get interest free education loan.

Sh. R S Munirathinam, Chief Patron while discussing about faculty ratio said that KAW committee has recommended faculty ratio as 1:25, where in AICTE, the prescribed ratio is 1:15. Munirathinam requested HRD to consider the request of KAW committee and fix the faculty ratio as 1:25.

Delegations from around 15 different States from all across the Country including Mr. Amit Sharma, Vice President  & CA, Manmohan Garg, Treasurer from Punjab Unaided Colleges Association (PUCA) also participated in this meeting.

Sri Srini Bhupalam (Telangana), Sri Panduranga Shetty (Karnataka), Sri Pradeep Kumar(Haryana), Sri P Selvaraj (Tamil Nadu), Mr. Lalit Aggarwal (Delhi), Sri K V K Rao (Andhra Pradesh), Sh. T D Esawara Moorthy (Tamil Nadu), Sh. K G Madhu (Kerala), Sh. Rajeev Chand (Maharastra), Sh. Shridhar Singh (Rajastan), Sh. V K Verma (Madhya Pradesh), Sh. Sridhar (Andhra Pradesh) etc were also present in the meeting.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.