4 April 2018


The 62nd Annual Prize Distribution Function of Post-Graduate Govt. College for Girls, Sector-11, Chandigarh was held today. His Excellency Shri V.P. Singh Badnore, Hon’ble Governor of Punjab and Administrator, U.T., Chandigarh, graced the occasion as Chief Guest of the function. Amidst applause by the audience, meritorious students were honoured with trophies and prizes for their outstanding and distinctive performance in the field of academics and co-curricular activities. The Chief-Guest, Sh. B.L. Sharma, IAS, Secretary Education UT, Sh. R.K. Popli, Director Higher Education, U.T. and Principal of the college lighted the ceremonial lamp which was followed by invocation of Goddess Saraswati by the students.

Welcoming the Chief Guest Prof. Anita Kaushal, Principal of the college, proudly announced that the college has been ranked 68th in the country and stands first in the region as per NIRF-2018 ranking of colleges declared by Minister of MHRD Sh. Prakash Javdekar yesterday. Earlier the college had been reaccredited with ‘A’ Grade by NAAC with a CGPA of 3.52 and was adjudged 6th at the national level in Swatchta ranking. The college has also been selected to be a co-partner with Government of India in the Unnat Bharat Abhiyan. Thus the institution has carved a niche not only in the region but also in the country. The Principal presented the College Annual Report and highlighted the glorious achievements of the students in the fields of academics, extra-curricular activities and sports at the university, inter-university, state, national and international levels. She also highlighted the academic achievements of the faculty at National and International level.

Congratulating the winners, His Excellency Shri V.P. Singh Badnore lauded the multidimensional achievements of the institution and defined the PGGCG-11 as ‘Women Empowerment at its brilliant best’. He advised the students to maintain an adequate balance between Intelligence Quotient and Emotional Quotient in order to soar to unimaginable heights. He motivated them to focus on research and skill building, and be a part of constructive innovation.

More than 650 prizes were awarded to the students in various categories.
317 prizes were awarded for academic excellence in arts, science and commerce streams at UG & PG levels.
250 prizes were given for excellence in extra-curricular activities like public speaking, dance, vocal music, instrumental music, drawing and painting, dramatics etc. Editors of College Magazine and Members of Students Council were also honoured.
34 students were awarded the College Colour in sports.
14 students were awarded the Roll of Honour in sports for their achievements at the various inter-university, state and national level championships.
41 students were awarded the Roll of Honour for extra-curricular activities.
Parul Dhankar was adjudged as the Best NCC Cadet Air Wing.
SUO Ruchi was adjudged as the Best NCC Cadet Army Wing.
Saryu Thakur of B.Com.-II was awarded as the Best Blood Donor.
Tanya Sharma was awarded as the Best volunteer of NSS and Jyotika as the Best NSS camp organiser.
Ira Garg, Pragati, Ekta and Ramneek Kaur were awarded S.P. Dutta Award for Honesty.
Monika Rani was awarded the Nirmal Vasudeva Scholarship.
Nandini was awarded M.C. Bhatia Award for being the Best student in Physics.
Avreet Kaur was awarded Mrs. Sharan Makkar Memorial Award and a trophy for being the outstanding student in Punjabi literature.
Nishu Sharma and Simarpreet were awarded Gopal Das Garg Memorial Scholarship for their performance in B.A.-III, Music Instrumental (Honours).
Sharanjeet Kaur was awarded Dr. Harjinder Singh Scholarship.
Madhu Bala was awarded Mrs. Pushpa Verma Scholarship and a medal for standing 1st in M.A-I in P.U. and for her performance in Youth Festivals.
Ananya got Mrs. Pushpa Verma Scholarship and a medal for her performance in Academics and Youth Festivals.
Poonam Rani was awarded Sh. Dharam Rattan Scholarship for needy students.
Neha Goyal was awarded Sardarni Devinder Kaur Scholarship.
Nany was awarded Gursharan Singh Scholarship for excelling in Punjabi language and literature.
Kalyani Tehri of B.A.-III was declared the All Round Best Student of the college at the Under-graduate level.
Renu Walia of M.A.-Dance was declared the All Round Best Student of the college at the Post-graduate level.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.